Viewing: Logs - View all posts

XXI.III.MMXXII - Some Rest For The Wicked 

If we look as tired as we look happy, it's because we are. 

Our sophomore album is officially done. Fully recorded, and produced, mixed and mastered. We have also finished a ton of video content so you can feast your eyes as well as your ears over the course of this new musical venture. 

Your first glance into it will come on April 8th. Keep your eyes on our social media pages (Facebook, Instagram, TwitterTikTok), and this page.

This saga spanned this whole pandemic chaos over the course of two and a half years, from the first riff laid down to the last video take. A true labour of love that gathered the talent and efforts of a dozen collaborators in both the multimedia and musical department, kindly lending us their unimaginable talent in order to bring our vision to life, thus filling the gaps of our own knowledge and skill to do so. 

Further details will be revealed in due time. For now, we would just like to thank those amazing people who have been working with us and putting up with our collective madness. 

The wonderfully talented musicians that joined us on our album: 

- Diogo Mota (drums) 
- Sandra Oliveira (Blame Zeus, Perennial Dawn, vocals) 
- Sofia Beco (Phase Transition, vocals) 

The ever-patient geniuses behind artwork, musical production and photography: 

- Sofía Hernandez (photography and multimedia) 
- Titanforged Productions (music production, mixing and mastering, and video) 
- Coalblur (video) 
- Credo Quia Absurdum (artwork)
- Against PR 

Special thanks:

- Nick Grima (booking)
- Sílvia Ferreira (Enchanted Moon)
- Bruno Silva

We are Pedro Quelhas, Nuno Barbosa, Fernando Maia, Luís Dias and Ricardo Pereira. And we have a brand new adventure for you, starting on April 8th.

Join us.

You are expected.


II.VI.MMXXI - An update from Plato's cave 

Dearly departed,

To say that Moonshade have been busy would be a tremendous understatement, and we can hardly contain the excitement of letting you know what we are working on.

We have nine new songs lined up in the form of a brand new album, and the processes of recording guitars, drums, bass and voice are essentially done. Orchestrations are currently being composed by two multi-talented gentlemen, namely our guitarrist Pedro Quelhas and our drummer Fernando Maia. Despite having entered the band too late for participating in the composition and recording of drums, Maia arrived just in time to improve our songs dramatically through his incredible creative input. Luís Dias, our new guitarrist, has done the same by providing Moonshade with solos and riffs that will lift your spirit with breathtaking melodies whilst dazzling you with technical ability beyond everything this band has ever had before.

The remaining three of us have revamped everything we knew about writing heavy music, as we feel like we owe you the very best we have to give. Overall, writing and recording this was a grueling task that has been streching all of us to the limits of our collective current abilities, and will show you Moonshade as you have never seen it before. However, as challenging as it is, it's probably the most fun we had in ages. 

Concerning lyrics, and as much as I love making up stories and characters, such as we did on Sun Dethroned, this time I decided to get my head out of the clouds and set my gaze upon the barren landscape of our existence, and then a little bit towards the stars, if only to catch a glimpse of where we are going. Expect something painfully real, that, hopefully, will also help you navigate these troubling times. 

May Sun Dethroned's successor prove worthy to your eyes and ears, as we lay our gods to rest. For now.

Yours in spirit,
Ricardo Pereira